Courgette & Lime Cake Recipe

Courgette and limes are not something I often have in the fridge, but I’d been cooking with them and had plenty of each left. Not being one to want to waste a single crumb of food, I had to find a recipe to use them up. And what better way to use them than in a cake!

IMG_8224
Courgette and Lime Cake (Cook with M&S)

I made this cake to take to the Blogotography picnic. I hope people enjoyed it, I know I did but then I don’t think i’ve ever turned down cake. I did promise the lovely ladies from Bone White China I would share the recipe, so here goes.

I saw this recipe on the Cook with M&S App and went ahead and made it, the full recipe is below and you can also find it here:

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 100ml sunflower oil or light olive oil
  • 6 tbsp Greek-style yogurt
  • 0.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 lime
  • 250g small courgettes
  • 300g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100g pistachio nuts
  • For the lime frosting
  • 150g cream cheese
  • 75g butter
  • 300g icing sugar
  • 1 lime

Method

  1.  Heat the oven to 170°C/150°C fan/gas 4.
  2.  Line a 900ml loaf tin with greaseproof paper.
  3.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, oil, yogurt and vanilla extract.
  4.  Stir in the lime zest and juice, and the grated courgette.
  5.  Then sift in the flour and baking powder.
  6.  Reserve 2 tbsp pistachios, and fold through the remainder of chopped pistachios until well combined.
  7.  Spoon into the loaf tin.
  8.  Bake for 45-50 minutes or until well risen, golden brown and springy to the touch.
  9.  Cool slightly in the tin, then turn out on to a wire rack to cool completely.
  10.  For the frosting, beat together the cream cheese and butter with the lime zest.
  11.  Beat in the icing sugar to form a smooth frosting, but take care not to over-beat, otherwise the mixture will become runny.
  12.  When the loaf has cooled completely, spread over the frosting.
  13.  Coarsely chop the reserved nuts and sprinkle over, to decorate.

The Results

IMG_1225


   IMG_1213IMG_1214IMG_1224

This cake was so moist and you really can’t tell that it has no butter in as the courgette plays the role of the fat in this cake.

I’ve never made a cake like this before, and by ‘like this’ I mean one with a vegetable in it. I was a bit skeptical of it but I will definitely be making this again. The lime cream cheese frosting gave it such a fresh taste and really gave the cake a zing. 

One thing I found with this recipe is that there seems to be a bit too much mixture for one loaf tin so I made a loaf cake as well as using up the rest of the mixture to make another small round cake.

IMG_1218

Let me know if you make this cake and how it goes! Or if you have any vegetable cake recipes as I want to try another.

x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Instagram: @From_Where_Nicole_Stands

Twitter: @Nicole_Kendall_

//

6 thoughts on “Courgette & Lime Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

