Rewind time – 1950’s style

1950’s Styling

I decided to put my hair in curlers because I was getting fed up of how flat my hair has become (my own fault for not having it cut recently). Anyway this gave me some inspiration, so I started to style my newly curled hair in a few different ways, and of course pick an outfit to match – and below are the results and how I achieved it.

Hair

IMG_1001

I styled my hair after a wash. Firstly I sprayed my hair with some Aussie Miracle Recharge Leave In Treatment Luscious Long then simply combed it through, as I mentioned my hair isn’t in great condition at the minute so this is just to try and make it a little softer.

Then I used some John Frieda Frizz Ease Original 6 Effects Serum while it was wet – you only need a small amount of this each time so don’t be put off by the small looking bottle. This I use to just keep my flyaway hairs under a little control.

I dried my hair relatively straight with my hairdyer by just drying it from above and on a low power. Once my hair was pretty much dry I used the hot rollers that we have in the house from centuries ago that look like something that has been transported straight from the 80’s – and to be honest they probably have come from the 80’s. You can buy a more updated set like these BaByliss Thermo-Ceramic Rollers. Once the rollers were in I did a light spray of Aussie Hold & Shine Hairspray – which is one of my favourite hairsprays because it doesn’t make my hair crispy and sticky like some brands do.

15-20 minutes on the clock and then I removed the rollers and loosened my hair by running my fingers through it and placing a small amount of Aussie Dual Curl Definition Serum, this helps to loosen the waves and give them a bit more definition as well as calming frizz and making them feel soft.

IMG_7939 [290797]

By now you’ve probably realised that I love Aussie products – they all seem to work so well and smell divine.

Different Hair Styling

IMG_1029 IMG_1042

IMG_1047 IMG_1061

Make Up

I IMG_1012went for pretty much my usual look but just accentuated the winged eye liner using Barry M Gel Waterproof eyeliner, as well as pink cheeks using Rimmel Lasting Finish Mono Blush, Pink Rose. I also accentuated my eyebrows with Too Faced Brow Envy, which I love (I think this one must be the newer version of mine as the box is a little different).

Outfit

IMG_1069   IMG_1077

I chose a dress I bought last summer from ASOS. Its a fitted skater dress (which is great for twirling about in), and I had a look on their site and there are some real similar ones on there available now that are super cute. I just put a similar blue coloured ribbon around my waist, you could probably find something like this in a haberdashery shop or charity shop.

Asos textured skater dress – £12.50   Also in petite here 

Asos skater dress with cut out back – £13

Asos midi skater dress – £56

Asos midi halterneck dress – £45

My shoes are also from last year, so unfortunately they’re not available anymore. But any cute pumps would go well with this dress, or you can add more snazz to the outfit with these River Island leopard print ballet pumps – £28 

My dog came to join me so we have some photos together because he’s always looking glam:

IMG_1083 IMG_1084

Suitable song for the post today… 

x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Instagram: @From_Where_Nicole_Stands

Twitter: @Nicole_Kendall_

//

8 thoughts on “Rewind time – 1950’s style

Leave a Reply

